الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي: هل نريد من الذكاء الاصطناعي أن يفهم مشاعرنا؟

رصيد الصورة:
الصورة الائتمان
ستوك

الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي: هل نريد من الذكاء الاصطناعي أن يفهم مشاعرنا؟

الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي: هل نريد من الذكاء الاصطناعي أن يفهم مشاعرنا؟

نص عنوان فرعي
تستثمر الشركات بكثافة في تقنيات الذكاء الاصطناعي للاستفادة من قدرة الآلات على تحليل المشاعر البشرية.
    • مؤلف:
    • اسم المؤلف
      البصيرة الكمومية
    • 6 سبتمبر 2022

    نص آخر

    تتعلم أنظمة الذكاء الاصطناعي (AI) التعرف على المشاعر البشرية والاستفادة من تلك المعلومات في مختلف القطاعات ، من الرعاية الصحية إلى حملات التسويق. على سبيل المثال ، تستخدم مواقع الويب الرموز التعبيرية لقياس كيفية استجابة المشاهدين لمحتواهم. ومع ذلك ، هل العاطفة AI هي كل شيء تدعي أنها كذلك؟ 

    سياق العاطفة AI

    Emotion AI (المعروف أيضًا باسم الحوسبة العاطفية أو الذكاء العاطفي الاصطناعي) هو مجموعة فرعية من الذكاء الاصطناعي تقيس العواطف البشرية وتفهمها وتحاكيها وتستجيب لها. يعود الانضباط إلى عام 1995 عندما أصدرت روزاليند بيكارد ، أستاذة مختبر MIT Media في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ، كتابًا بعنوان "الحوسبة العاطفية". وفقًا لمختبر MIT Media Lab ، يسمح الذكاء الاصطناعي للعاطفة بمزيد من التفاعل الطبيعي بين الأشخاص والآلات. تحاول Emotion AI الإجابة عن سؤالين: ما هي الحالة العاطفية للإنسان ، وكيف سيكون رد فعلهم؟ تؤثر الإجابات التي تم جمعها بشكل كبير على كيفية تقديم الآلات للخدمات والمنتجات.

    غالبًا ما يتم تبادل الذكاء العاطفي الاصطناعي مع تحليل المشاعر ، لكنهما يختلفان في جمع البيانات. يركز تحليل المشاعر على دراسات اللغة ، مثل تحديد آراء الناس حول مواضيع معينة وفقًا لهجة منشوراتهم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ومدوناتهم وتعليقاتهم. ومع ذلك ، يعتمد الذكاء الاصطناعي للعاطفة على التعرف على الوجه والتعبيرات لتحديد المشاعر. عوامل الحوسبة الفعالة الأخرى هي أنماط الصوت والبيانات الفسيولوجية مثل التغيرات في حركة العين. يعتبر بعض الخبراء تحليل المشاعر مجموعة فرعية من الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي ولكن مع مخاطر أقل على الخصوصية.

    التأثير التخريبي

    في عام 2019 ، نشرت مجموعة من الباحثين بين الجامعات ، بما في ذلك جامعة نورث إيسترن في الولايات المتحدة وجامعة جلاسكو ، دراسات كشفت أن الذكاء الاصطناعي للعاطفة ليس له أساس علمي متين. أبرزت الدراسة أنه لا يهم ما إذا كان البشر أو الذكاء الاصطناعي يقومون بالتحليل ؛ من الصعب التنبؤ بدقة بالحالات العاطفية بناءً على تعابير الوجه. يجادل الباحثون بأن التعبيرات ليست بصمات أصابع توفر معلومات محددة وفريدة عن الفرد. ومع ذلك ، لا يتفق بعض الخبراء مع هذا التحليل. جادل مؤسس شركة Hume AI ، آلان كوين ، بأن الخوارزميات الحديثة قد طورت مجموعات بيانات ونماذج أولية تتوافق بدقة مع المشاعر البشرية. تستخدم Hume AI ، التي جمعت 5 ملايين دولار أمريكي لتمويل الاستثمار ، مجموعات بيانات لأشخاص من الأمريكتين وأفريقيا وآسيا لتدريب نظام الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي الخاص بها. 

    اللاعبون الآخرون الناشئون في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي هم HireVue و Entropik و Emteq و Neurodata Labs. يستخدم Entropik تعابير الوجه ونظرة العين ونغمات الصوت وموجات الدماغ لتحديد تأثير حملة تسويقية. يستخدم بنك روسي Neurodata لتحليل مشاعر العملاء عند الاتصال بممثلي خدمة العملاء. 

    حتى شركات التكنولوجيا الكبرى بدأت في الاستفادة من إمكانات الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي. في عام 2016 ، اشترت Apple شركة Emotient ، وهي شركة مقرها سان دييغو تعمل على تحليل تعابير الوجه. تعتذر Alexa ، المساعد الافتراضي لـ Amazon ، وتوضح ردودها عندما تكتشف أن مستخدمها محبط. وفي الوقت نفسه ، يمكن لشركة Nuance التابعة لشركة Microsoft للتعرف على الكلام ، تحليل مشاعر السائقين بناءً على تعابير وجوههم.

    تداعيات العاطفة AI

    الآثار الأوسع للعاطفة قد تشمل: 

    • تشتري Big Tech المزيد من الشركات الناشئة لتوسيع أبحاثها وقدراتها في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي ، بما في ذلك استخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي في المركبات ذاتية القيادة.
    • تستخدم أقسام خدمة العملاء في مركز الاتصال الذكاء الاصطناعي العاطفي لتوقع سلوك العملاء بناءً على نبرة صوتهم والتغييرات في تعابير وجوههم.
    • زيادة الاستثمارات في أبحاث الحوسبة العاطفية ، بما في ذلك الشراكات الموسعة مع الجامعات والمؤسسات البحثية العالمية.
    • زيادة الضغط على الحكومات لتنظيم كيفية جمع بيانات الوجه والبيانات البيولوجية وتخزينها واستخدامها.
    • تعميق التمييز العنصري والجنساني من خلال المعلومات المضللة أو التحليلات الخاطئة.

    أسئلة للتعليق عليها

    • هل توافق على أن تقوم تطبيقات الذكاء الاصطناعي الخاصة بالعواطف بفحص تعابير وجهك ونبرة صوتك لتوقع مشاعرك؟
    • ما هي المخاطر المحتملة للذكاء الاصطناعي الذي يحتمل أن يخطئ في قراءة المشاعر؟

    مراجع البصيرة

    تمت الإشارة إلى الروابط الشعبية والمؤسسية التالية من أجل هذه الرؤية:

    مدرسة سلون لإدارة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا وأوضح العاطفة AI

Emotion AI: Do we want AI to understand our feelings?

IMAGE CREDIT:
Image credit
iStock

Emotion AI: Do we want AI to understand our feelings?

Thrive from future trends

Subscribe today to equip your team with the leading trend and foresight platform used by multidisciplinary, future-focused teams working across departments in Strategy, Innovation, Product Development, Investor Research, and Consumer Insights. Convert industry trends into practical insights for your business.

Starting at $15/month

Emotion AI: Do we want AI to understand our feelings?

Subheading text
Companies are heavily investing in AI technologies to capitalize on machines being able to analyze human emotions.
    • Author:
    • Author name
      Quantumrun Foresight
    • September 6, 2022

    Post text

    Artificial intelligence (AI) systems are learning to recognize human emotions and leverage that information in various sectors, from healthcare to marketing campaigns. For example, websites use emoticons to gauge how viewers respond to their content. However, is emotion AI everything that it claims to be? 

    Emotion AI context

    Emotion AI (also known as affective computing or artificial emotional intelligence) is a subset of AI that measures, understands, simulates, and responds to human emotions. The discipline dates back to 1995 when MIT Media lab professor Rosalind Picard released the book “Affective Computing.” According to the MIT Media Lab, emotion AI allows for more natural interaction between people and machines. Emotion AI attempts to answer two questions: what is the human’s emotional state, and how will they react? The answers collected heavily impact how machines provide services and products.

    Artificial emotional intelligence is often interchanged with sentiment analysis, but they are different in data collection. Sentiment analysis is focused on language studies, such as determining people’s opinions about specific topics according to the tone of their social media posts, blogs, and comments. However, emotion AI relies on facial recognition and expressions to determine sentiment. Other effective computing factors are voice patterns and physiological data like changes in eye movement. Some experts consider sentiment analysis a subset of emotion AI but with fewer privacy risks.

    Disruptive impact

    In 2019, a group of inter-university researchers, including Northeastern University in the US and the University of Glasgow, published studies revealing that emotion AI doesn’t have a solid scientific foundation. The study highlighted that it doesn’t matter if humans or AI are conducting the analysis; it’s challenging to accurately predict emotional states based on facial expressions. The researchers argue that expressions are not fingerprints that provide definitive and unique information about an individual. However, some experts don’t agree with this analysis. The founder of Hume AI, Alan Cowen, argued that modern algorithms had developed datasets and prototypes that accurately correspond to human emotions. Hume AI, which raised $5 million USD in investment funding, uses datasets of people from the Americas, Africa, and Asia to train its emotion AI system. 

    Other emerging players in the emotion AI field are HireVue, Entropik, Emteq, and Neurodata Labs. Entropik uses facial expressions, eye gaze, voice tones, and brainwaves to determine the impact of a marketing campaign. A Russian bank uses Neurodata to analyze client sentiments when calling customer service representatives. 

    Even Big Tech is starting to capitalize on the potential of emotion AI. In 2016, Apple purchased Emotient, a San Diego-based firm analyzing facial expressions. Alexa, Amazon’s virtual assistant, apologizes and clarifies its responses when it detects that its user is frustrated. Meanwhile, Microsoft’s speech recognition AI firm, Nuance, can analyze drivers’ emotions based on their facial expressions.

    Implications of emotion AI

    Wider implications of emotion AI may include: 

    • Big Tech purchasing more startups to expand their AI research and capabilities, including the use of emotion AI in self-driving vehicles.
    • Call center customer service departments using emotion AI to anticipate customer behavior based on the tone of their voice and changes in their facial expressions.
    • Increasing investments in affective computing research, including expanded partnerships with global universities and research institutions.
    • Increasing pressure for governments to regulate how facial and biological data are collected, stored, and used.
    • Deepening racial and gender discrimination through misinformation or erroneous analyses.

    Questions to comment on

    • Would you consent to have emotion AI apps scan your facial expressions and voice tone to anticipate your emotions?
    • What are the possible risks of AI potentially misreading emotions?

    Community forecast feedback

    View the community's ratings after you leave your own below.

    Average year

    All readers

    Average year

    Qr readers

    --

    Average vote

    All readers

    Average vote

    Qr readers

    --

    Average vote

    All readers

    Average vote

    Qr readers

    --

    Average vote

    All readers

    Average vote

    Quantumrun readers

    --
    --
    --

    Average vote

    Company readers

    Insight references

    The following popular and institutional links were referenced for this insight:

    MIT Management Sloan School Emotion AI, explained