مرض لايم: هل تغير المناخ ينشر هذا المرض؟

رصيد الصورة:
الصورة الائتمان
ستوك

مرض لايم: هل تغير المناخ ينشر هذا المرض؟

مرض لايم: هل تغير المناخ ينشر هذا المرض؟

نص عنوان فرعي
كيف أن زيادة انتشار القراد قد يؤدي إلى ارتفاع معدل الإصابة بمرض لايم في المستقبل.
    • مؤلف:
    • اسم المؤلف
      البصيرة الكمومية
    • 27 فبراير، 2022

    نص آخر

    بينما يستمر النطاق الجغرافي للقراد في التوسع ، أفادت المراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) أن الإصابة بالأمراض التي تنقلها القراد تتزايد بمعدل غير مسبوق.

    سياق مرض لايم 

    مرض لايم الذي يسببه بوريليا برغدورفيرية وأحيانا بوريليا مايوني، هو أكثر الأمراض المنقولة بالنواقل شيوعًا في الولايات المتحدة. ينتقل المرض عن طريق لدغة القراد ذو الأرجل السوداء المصابة. تشمل الأعراض النموذجية الحمى والتعب والصداع والطفح الجلدي المميز المعروف باسم حمامي مهاجر. يمكن أن تنتشر العدوى غير المعالجة إلى القلب والمفاصل والجهاز العصبي. يعتمد تشخيص مرض لايم على احتمال التعرض للقراد وكذلك عرض الأعراض الجسدية. 

    يرتبط القراد عادة بغابات نيو إنجلاند ومناطق حرجية أخرى في الولايات المتحدة. ومع ذلك ، يشير بحث جديد إلى أن القراد الذي يحمل مرض لايم قد تم اكتشافه بالقرب من الشواطئ في شمال كاليفورنيا لأول مرة. أدى توسع المستوطنات البشرية في مناطق الأراضي البرية ، بما في ذلك الغابات في شرق الولايات المتحدة ، إلى تجزئة موائل الغابات التي ارتبطت بزيادة خطر الإصابة بمرض لايم. التطورات السكنية الجديدة ، على سبيل المثال ، تجعل الناس على اتصال مع مجموعات القراد التي عاشت سابقًا في مناطق مشجرة أو غير مطورة. 

    قد يكون التحضر قد تسبب أيضًا في زيادة عدد الفئران والغزلان ، مما يؤدي إلى الحاجة إلى وجبات الدم ، وبالتالي زيادة عدد القراد. وفقًا لوكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية ، فإن درجة الحرارة والرطوبة لها تأثير كبير على انتشار ودورة حياة قراد الغزلان. على سبيل المثال ، يزدهر قراد الغزلان في الأماكن ذات الرطوبة 85٪ على الأقل وتكون أكثر نشاطًا عندما ترتفع درجة الحرارة عن 45 درجة فهرنهايت. نتيجة لذلك ، من المتوقع أن يؤدي ارتفاع درجات الحرارة المرتبط بتغير المناخ إلى توسيع منطقة موطن القراد المناسب ، وهو أحد العوامل العديدة التي تؤدي إلى الانتشار الملحوظ لمرض لايم.

    التأثير التخريبي

    على الرغم من أنه من غير المعروف عدد الأمريكيين الذين يصابون بمرض لايم ، فإن أحدث دليل نشره مركز السيطرة على الأمراض يشير إلى أنه يتم تحديد ما يصل إلى 476,000 أمريكي وعلاجهم من هذا المرض كل عام. كانت هناك تقارير عن حالات في جميع الولايات الخمسين. هناك حاجة سريرية رئيسية تشمل ضرورة تحسين التشخيص ؛ وهذا يشمل القدرة على تحديد مرض لايم المبكر قبل أن يتمكن اختبار الأجسام المضادة من اكتشافه بشكل موثوق بالإضافة إلى تطوير لقاحات داء لايم. 

    بافتراض زيادة درجتين مئويتين في المتوسط ​​السنوي لدرجة الحرارة - وفقًا لتقديرات منتصف القرن من أحدث تقييم مناخي وطني أمريكي (NCA4) - من المتوقع أن يرتفع عدد حالات مرض لايم في الولايات المتحدة بأكثر من 20 بالمائة في الولايات المتحدة. العقود القادمة. قد تساعد هذه النتائج خبراء الصحة العامة والأطباء وواضعي السياسات في تعزيز التأهب والاستجابة ، بالإضافة إلى زيادة الوعي العام بضرورة توخي الحذر عند المشاركة في الأنشطة الخارجية. أصبح فهم كيفية تأثير التغييرات الحالية والمستقبلية في استخدام الأراضي على مخاطر الإصابة بالأمراض البشرية أولوية لعلماء بيئة الأمراض وعلماء الأوبئة وممارسي الصحة العامة.

    على الرغم من الاستثمارات الحكومية الفيدرالية الكبيرة ، فقد ظهر الارتفاع السريع لمرض لايم وغيره من الأمراض التي تنقلها القراد. وفقًا لمركز السيطرة على الأمراض ، فإن الحماية الشخصية هي أفضل حاجز ضد مرض لايم جنبًا إلى جنب مع تغيرات المناظر الطبيعية وعلاجات مبيدات القراد للمنازل الفردية. ومع ذلك ، هناك أدلة محدودة على نجاح أي من هذه التدابير. يقلل استخدام مبيدات الآفات في الفناء الخلفي من أعداد القراد ولكنه لا يؤثر بشكل مباشر على المرض البشري أو التفاعل البشري.

    أسئلة للتعليق عليها

    • هل تعرف أي شخص أصيب بمرض لايم؟ كيف كانت تجربتهم مثل إدارة هذا المرض؟
    • ما هي الاحتياطات التي تتخذها لإبعاد القراد عندما تكون في الهواء الطلق؟

    مراجع البصيرة

    تمت الإشارة إلى الروابط الشعبية والمؤسسية التالية من أجل هذه الرؤية:

    مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها مرض لايم
    المجلة الكندية للأمراض المعدية والأحياء الدقيقة الطبية "قنبلة موقوتة": تأثير تغير المناخ على حدوث مرض لايم

Lyme disease: Is climate change spreading this disease?

IMAGE CREDIT:
Image credit
iStock

Lyme disease: Is climate change spreading this disease?

Lyme disease: Is climate change spreading this disease?

Subheading text
How the increased spread of ticks may lead to a higher incidence of Lyme disease in the future.
    • Author:
    • Author name
      Quantumrun Foresight
    • February 27, 2022

    Post text

    While the geographic range of ticks continues to expand, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that the incidence of tick-borne diseases is increasing at an unprecedented rate.

    Lyme disease context 

    Lyme disease, caused by borrelia burgdorferi and occasionally borrelia mayonii, is the most common vector-borne disease in the United States. The illness is transmitted via the bite of infected black-legged ticks. Typical symptoms include fever, fatigue, headache, and a distinctive skin rash known as erythema migrans. An untreated infection can spread to the heart, joints, and nervous system. A Lyme disease diagnosis is based on the probability of tick exposure as well as the presentation of physical symptoms. 

    Ticks are typically associated with the New England woodlands and other forested areas in the US; however, new research indicates that ticks carrying Lyme disease have been discovered near beaches in Northern California for the first time. Human settlement expansion into wildland areas, including forests in the eastern United States, has resulted in fragmented forest habitat that has been linked to an increased entomological risk for Lyme disease. New housing developments, for example, bring people into contact with tick populations that previously lived in wooded or undeveloped areas. 

    Urbanization may have also caused a rise in the number of mice and deer, which ticks need for blood meals, thereby increasing the tick population. According to the US Environmental Protection Agency, temperature and humidity have a significant impact on the prevalence and life cycle of deer ticks. For example, deer ticks flourish in locations with at least 85 percent humidity and are most active when the temperature rises over 45 degrees Fahrenheit. As a result, rising temperatures linked with climate change are anticipated to expand the area of suitable tick habitat and are one of several factors driving the observed spread of Lyme disease.

    Disruptive impact

    Although it is unknown how many Americans get infected with Lyme disease, the latest evidence published by the CDC indicates that up to 476,000 Americans are identified and treated for the disease each year. There have been reports of cases in all 50 states. A major clinical need includes the necessity for better diagnostics; this includes the capacity to identify early Lyme disease before antibody testing can reliably detect it as well as the development of Lyme disease vaccines. 

    Assuming a two-degree Celsius increase in yearly average temperature—per mid-century estimates from the most recent U.S. National Climate Assessment (NCA4)—the number of Lyme Disease cases in the United States is predicted to rise by more than 20 percent in the coming decades. These findings may help public health experts, clinicians, and policymakers in strengthening preparedness and response, as well as boosting public awareness of the necessity of exercising caution when participating in outdoor activities. Understanding how present and future land-use changes are likely to influence human disease risk has become a priority for disease ecologists, epidemiologists, and public health practitioners.

    Despite substantial federal government investments, the rapid rise of Lyme and other tick-borne illnesses has emerged. According to the CDC, personal protection is the best barrier against Lyme disease along with landscape changes and acaricide treatments to individual homes. However, there is limited evidence that any of these measures work. Backyard pesticide usage reduces tick numbers but does not directly influence human illness or tick-human interaction.

    Questions to comment on

    • Do you know of anyone who has contracted Lyme disease? What has their experience been like managing this disease?
    • What precautions do you take to keep ticks at bay when you are outdoors?

    Community forecast feedback

    View the community's ratings after you leave your own below.

    Average year

    All readers

    Average year

    Qr readers

    --

    Average vote

    All readers

    Average vote

    Qr readers

    --

    Average vote

    All readers

    Average vote

    Qr readers

    --

    Average vote

    All readers

    Average vote

    Quantumrun readers

    --
    --
    --

    Average vote

    Company readers

    Insight references

    The following popular and institutional links were referenced for this insight:

    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Lyme Disease
    The Canadian Journal of Infectious Diseases and Medical Microbiology “Ticking Bomb”: The Impact of Climate Change on the Incidence of Lyme Disease