
Coin ATM Radar counted 27,945 crypto ATMs worldwide on July 8, 2026, down from 38,928 on March 29. The United States supplied almost all of the drop. This page sets out the crypto ATM market statistics behind that contraction: installed machines by date and region, operator concentration, revenue forecasts, FBI kiosk fraud losses, and the four state bans enacted this year.
Crypto ATM Market Statistics: The Headline Numbers
How Many Crypto ATMs Are There In 2026?
Coin ATM Radar tracked 27,945 active machines on July 8, 2026. The network stood at 38,708 on May 1, so 10,763 kiosks came offline across 68 days.
Bitcoin.com News reports the sharpest single monthly reading in Coin ATM Radar’s net-change series at June 1, 2026, roughly minus 10,230 machines. US installations fell from 30,247 to 20,005 across the same window.
The contraction started earlier and smaller. Q1 2026 closed with 231 installations in February and 80 in early March against 769 removals, a net loss of 597 machines.
| Date | Global crypto ATMs | US crypto ATMs |
|---|---|---|
| March 29, 2026 | 38,928 | 30,247 |
| May 1, 2026 | 38,708 | Not reported |
| July 8, 2026 | 27,945 | 20,005 |
Source: Coin ATM Radar via Bitcoin.com News, March 29 to July 8, 2026. Counts are active tracked machines.
Finbold’s H1 2026 Cryptocurrency Market Report, also built on Coin ATM Radar, puts the global Bitcoin ATM total at 28,322 on June 30, 2026 against 39,158 at the end of 2025, with the US down 10,380 machines. The two series use different snapshot dates and definitions.
Crypto ATM Market Share By Country
The United States held 77.7% of tracked machines at the March 29, 2026 snapshot. Canada ranked second at 9.9% and Europe third at 4.4%.
Those three regions together host 35,813 kiosks, or 92% of the global count. Everything else, across Asia, Oceania and elsewhere, splits the remaining 8%.
| Region | Crypto ATMs | Share of tracked machines |
|---|---|---|
| United States | 30,247 | 77.7% |
| Canada | 3,839 | 9.9% |
| Europe | 1,727 | 4.4% |
| Rest of world | Not itemised | 8% |
Source: Coin ATM Radar via Bitcoin.com News, March 29, 2026.
Which Operators Lead The Crypto ATM Market?
Bitcoin Depot ran 9,246 machines in March 2026, a 23.8% share of tracked kiosks. The top ten operators held 30,450 between them, or 78.2%.
That concentration is why one bankruptcy moved the global count. Bitcoin Depot filed Chapter 11 on May 18, 2026 and began winding down a network of roughly 9,700 kiosks. The table below predates the filing.
| Operator | Machines | Share of tracked machines |
|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin Depot | 9,246 | 23.8% |
| Coinflip | 5,493 | 14.1% |
| Athena Bitcoin | 4,045 | 10.4% |
| Rockitcoin | 2,757 | 7.1% |
| Bitstop | 2,372 | 6.1% |
| Margo | 2,138 | 5.5% |
| Top 10 combined | 30,450 | 78.2% |
Source: Coin ATM Radar via Bitcoin.com News, March 29, 2026.
What Bitcoin Depot’s Accounts Showed Before The Filing
Full-year 2025 revenue reached USD 614.85 million, up 7% on 2024, while net income fell to USD 5.12 million. The fourth quarter broke the pattern: revenue dropped to USD 116.04 million and the company posted a USD 24.86 million net loss that included an USD 18.5 million arbitration accrual.
| Metric (USD millions) | FY 2024 | FY 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 573.70 | 614.85 |
| Gross profit | 81.46 | 105.65 |
| Net income | 7.81 | 5.12 |
| Q4 revenue | 136.83 | 116.04 |
| Q4 net income (loss) | 5.39 | (24.86) |
Source: Bitcoin Depot Inc., Form 8-K Exhibit 99.1 filed March 16, 2026, covering fiscal years 2024 and 2025.
The company guided to a 30% to 40% decline in core-business revenue for 2026, citing state regulations and compliance standards. Its Chapter 11 filing puts first-quarter 2026 revenue down about USD 80.7 million, or 49.2%, against the same quarter of 2025.
Crypto ATM Market Size And Revenue Forecasts For 2026
Fortune Business Insights values the global crypto ATM market at USD 356.72 million for 2025 and projects USD 549.98 million for 2026, reaching USD 18,127.56 million by 2034 at a 54.80% CAGR. The report was last updated on August 24, 2026.
This measures vendor revenue from hardware, software and services under that firm’s scope definition. It does not measure the value of cryptocurrency sold through the machines, which is why Bitcoin Depot’s single-company 2025 revenue of USD 614.85 million exceeds the modelled global market for the same year.
| Region | 2025 revenue (USD M) | 2025 share | 2026 revenue (USD M) |
|---|---|---|---|
| North America | 316.49 | 88.70% | 486.06 |
| Europe | 21.58 | 6.10% | 33.75 |
| Asia Pacific | 13.57 | 3.80% | 22.07 |
| Latin America | 3.02 | 0.80% | 4.87 |
| Middle East & Africa | 2.06 | 0.60% | 3.23 |
Source: Fortune Business Insights, Crypto ATM Market report updated August 24, 2026. Figures are vendor revenue, 2025 actual and 2026 projected.
Within its own segmentation axes for 2026, the same report puts hardware at 66.34% of the component split, one-way machines at 80.94% of the type split, Bitcoin at 51.52% of the coin-type split, and restaurants and other hospitality spaces at 36.44% of the application split. Each percentage belongs to a separate axis and cannot be added to the others.
Unit counts tell a different story from revenue. Coin ATM Radar had 91.6% of March 2026 machines configured for purchases only, against the 80.94% one-way share of modelled revenue. Ethereum was supported at 22,200 locations, Litecoin at 21,292 and Tether at 19,894. Demand-side context sits in these Bitcoin ownership figures, while exchange economics are broken out in this Coinbase revenue analysis.
Crypto ATM Fraud Statistics: What The FBI Recorded In 2025
The FBI’s Internet Crime Complaint Center logged 13,460 complaints involving cryptocurrency kiosks in 2025, with adjusted losses of USD 388,981,267. Complaints rose 23% and losses rose 58% against 2024.
More than half of the complaints came from people over 50, who reported losses above USD 302 million. The IC3 notes that complaints in this set may also involve other payment types, so the total is not attributable to kiosks alone.
| State | Complaints | Adjusted losses (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| Texas | 1,179 | 56,802,197 |
| Florida | 1,213 | 32,765,444 |
| California | 978 | 24,017,535 |
| Illinois | 510 | 20,077,277 |
| New Jersey | 369 | 17,873,478 |
| Tennessee | 348 | 15,024,261 |
| Arizona | 460 | 14,530,436 |
| Pennsylvania | 518 | 14,485,236 |
Source: FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center, PSA I-051526-PSA, cryptocurrency kiosk complaint data for calendar year 2025.
Florida filed more complaints than Texas, 1,213 against 1,179, while Texas reported the larger loss total at USD 56,802,197. The CFTC issued a consumer advisory in August 2026 citing the same FBI figures and warning that kiosk transfers are usually immediate and irreversible.
Crypto ATM Regulation: The 2026 State Bans
Four states had enacted outright kiosk bans as of early July 2026. Indiana signed first on March 9, and Tennessee, Minnesota and Vermont followed by June 16.
Delaware and New Jersey both had prohibition bills sitting in committee with no final vote at that point. Spokane in Washington, plus Stillwater and St. Paul in Minnesota, restrict or bar the machines at city level.
| State | Measure | Signed | Effective |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana | House Enrolled Act 1116, full ban | March 9, 2026 | Not stated in source |
| Tennessee | HB 2505, operation a Class A misdemeanor | April 13, 2026 | July 1, 2026 |
| Minnesota | SF 3868, operations ban | May 5, 2026 | August 1, 2026 |
| Vermont | Act 142, voids existing registrations | June 16, 2026 | July 1, 2026 |
Source: Bitcoin.com News, July 8, 2026; Duane Morris Government Strategies for the Indiana signing date, March 2026.
Around 185 machines were operating in Tennessee before its ban took effect. Minnesota’s law requires full removal by 2027.
Fee levels sit behind much of the legislative attention. Fortune Business Insights puts kiosk transaction fees at 5% to 20%, well above online exchange pricing. Comparable platform economics appear in this Crypto.com revenue breakdown and in the funding history behind Swan Bitcoin.
Crypto ATM Market Statistics: What The 2026 Data Establishes
Three verified figures frame the year. Tracked machines fell from 38,928 on March 29 to 27,945 on July 8, the operator holding 23.8% of them entered Chapter 11 in the middle of that window, and the FBI recorded USD 388,981,267 in 2025 kiosk-linked losses.
The Fortune Business Insights forecast of 54.80% annual growth to 2034 models vendor revenue, not machine counts, and no restatement against the smaller installed base has been published. Valuation methods for adjacent businesses appear in this Bitcoin.com financial profile and this Gate.io market share review.
FAQs
How many crypto ATMs are there in the world?
Coin ATM Radar tracked 27,945 active crypto ATMs worldwide on July 8, 2026, down from 38,928 on March 29, 2026. The United States held 20,005 of them at the July snapshot.
Which country has the most crypto ATMs?
The United States. It held 30,247 machines on March 29, 2026, or 77.7% of tracked kiosks, ahead of Canada at 3,839 (9.9%) and Europe at 1,727 (4.4%).
Reddit threads claim crypto ATM fees run up to 20%. Is that accurate?
Fortune Business Insights puts kiosk transaction fees at 5% to 20% per transaction in its report updated August 24, 2026, and names the gap against online exchange pricing as a growth restraint.
Do Reddit posts about mass Bitcoin ATM removals match the data?
Yes. Coin ATM Radar recorded 10,763 machines removed globally between May 1 and July 8, 2026, with the largest single monthly net change, about minus 10,230, logged at June 1, 2026.
Why did so many crypto ATMs shut down in 2026?
Bitcoin Depot filed Chapter 11 on May 18, 2026 and wound down roughly 9,700 kiosks. Bans in Indiana, Tennessee, Minnesota and Vermont took effect across the same period.
Sources
https://www.ic3.gov/PSA/2026/PSA260515-2
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1901799/000119312526107410/btm-ex99_1.htm
https://www.fortunebusinessinsights.com/crypto-atm-market-112710
https://news.bitcoin.com/coinatmradar-data-shows-global-crypto-atms-crash-from-38708-down-to-27945-machines/


